India Coin News

Click here to edit subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > British India > Please help identify a 1943 copper half rupee of George 6

kikbik
Limited Member

Experts please help me identify and classify this 1943 half rupee of George 6 in copper. As i am new to this hobby and i have a very limited knowledge as of now i am not able to evaluate this coin.

I have read that all rupee, half rupee and 1/4 rupee coins during 1940-1945 time period were of half silver content but this coin is in copper, is it a fake coin or a forged one?

http://img34.imageshack.us/f/scan0009xx.jpg/

http://img337.imageshack.us/i/scan0008t.jpg/

January 15, 2011 at 1:03 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Shobhit Gupta

Its a fake coin.. Look at the spelling of "EMPEROR".. It is written as "EMPERON".. So It clearly depicts that it is a fake coin.. :)

January 15, 2011 at 11:49 AM Flag Quote & Reply

kikbik
Limited Member

Thank you for reply Shobhit. Actualy its R not N at the end, watch it carefully again. I can see on real coin that there are no spell mistakes, may be coin condition is not fine due to rust, any idea how to clean that rust?

Also the coin looks to be old in condition so how and why somebody forged these coins in those old times, i think that story should be interesting to know.

January 15, 2011 at 12:20 PM Flag Quote & Reply

kidromeo
Site Owner

I agree with shobhit's opinion too. It's a crude cast fake.

--
"Coin collecting is the only hobby in the world that you can
spend all the money in the world and still have some left over" 
January 15, 2011 at 12:23 PM Flag Quote & Reply

kikbik
Limited Member

^^ Thank you Rony sir for the reply. But does this coin has any market value??

January 15, 2011 at 12:24 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Arish
Limited Member

market value of the original coin is around Rs 2500 :)

January 15, 2011 at 12:48 PM Flag Quote & Reply

kidromeo
Site Owner