India Coin News

Click here to edit subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > British India > British India Fake Coins Discussion Thread

Ranjit
Limited Member

Here is a thread to share your experiences, knowledge, learnings and may be sometimes frustration of how you got duped :D

I'm still learning British India and looking forward for many experts in this area to help new learners (like me) with your knowledge.

Despite of being new, the huge number of fakes coins that I come across on daily basis is very overwhelming :).

I feel, there might be lot of fake British coins (most of them in silver and may be less in copper relatively) than original coins. There are lot lot more chances that you are looking at a fake British silver coin than seeing an original one unless you are seeing a authentic collecion.

Let me start with a coins that's close to heart. It being the first fake coin that opened my eye when I was a month old into this hobby. And it's coin that had fascinated me most when I started my British India collection. Off course, credit goes to eBay which I was so naive to trust. You can't quite forget the feelings of being fooled, can you? :(

This is 8 Anna coin and off course there are so many evident signs to tell this coins is fake but not having the knowledge, I was blind. The problem is that I still get fooled once in a while (not for such obvious fakes anymore) but may be that's how you learn out of your mistakes :o

Some of the observations indicating this one being fake:

1. If you have seen original 8 anna coin, you can notice the quality of the finish/look and feel. I learnt that that commmon sense is little hard to come by. I've not reached there myself. Most of the details on the portrait are not as fine as they are in the original coin.

2. Beard of George V is little pointed and extended than it should be

3. Elephant on the robe should be facing down but here it's walking up