India Coin News

Click here to edit subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > British India > Pricing of British India coins

Bala
Limited Member

I have been collecting coins, Since 20 years from Bangalore.  I have paid 300 - 400 rs for british India coins. since silver price has increased the price has gone to 750 - 800 Rupees. Please dont pay beyond that money and get cheated by the dealers.Now a days, I see lot of fake coins of Brtish India being circulated.

espeacially by the coins sellers itself in order make more profit by this hobby. So I request you people to  be careful while buying the coins and but from genuine dealers that too nominal prices only.In recenet days various  auction sites selling the coins with high prices. Please dont go by the value. It is just a hyped price,  you will get the coins at the nominal price only.

As I see few people saying it is a investment  and will give good returns etc. But the real fact that when you go and sell  the coins they will only take it for the price of silver(If you want you can always check this by testing near by shops or dealers to know how price they will pay it for the coin). So please dont get fooled by paying high prices.

The commerative coins which are rarely realsed on mark of some occassiosn by the goverment has some good value becasue usually dont restrike it, I had come across those coins also faked and sold especially silver coins(which does't have complicated designs and security edges).

If you really wanted to investe and make money please buy gold coin and sell it later on by buying 1 gm or 2gm or 4gms or more denominations depending upon your financial status. Only rare coins (becaus of lower mintage) has some high value. but that also not more than 3 times the value of silver. only greedy delars hype the price and more over if  only few buyers pay little more.

So I request you to be careful while buying and dealing with silver coins of British India. enjoy your hobby with pleasure and passion